Christmas carols make Christmas.
Was slightly baffled when “When a child is born” was on the carol sheets at a recent carol service I went to. But what makes a Christmas carol, a Christmas carol?
Wordonthenet describes it as “carol: joyful religious song celebrating the birth of Christ”
Wikipedia describes it as “A Christmas carol (also called a noël) is a carol (song or hymn) whose lyrics are on the theme of Christmas, or the winter season in general and which are traditionally sung in the period before Christmas and celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.”
But googling “Christmas carol”, you do have “A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickens come up a lot in its various forms.

In my mind, anything sung/written by your “mainstream”/”popular”/”well known” music artists, are just christmas songs. Whereas the likes of Away in a manger, God rest ye merry gentlemen, We three kings and the like, are the carols.
But just writing this, my vision is flawed as many  “mainstream”/”popular”/”well known” music artists have released christmas carols. But is my vision flawed? I don’t actually know any more. I’ve confused myself. >_<

Is there a way to properly separate carols from songs? If a song is overly religious/about the birth of christ, is that carol or is a song that just sings about  christmas a carol?

What do you guys think?

